28.04.2015, City Art Gallery, 7:00 PM

Cross over

Classic 4 Jazz
Sebastian Laverny Quartet

Sebastian Laverny piano
Axel Wolfram Phillip Schmitt saxophone, clarinet
Götz Ommert - double bass
Gerald Stütz drums


Original arrangements of pieces by Bizet, Verdi, Wagner, Debussy, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Gershwin, etc.

The conceptual background for the project Classic 4 Jazz of Sebastian Laverny Quartet is the fruitful interaction between classics and jazz through transposing well-known classical pieces in the style and intuitive spirit of jazz improvisations. The concert offers an original and fresh interpretation for jazz quartet of masterpieces by Bizet, Verdi, Wagner, Debussy, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Gershwin, etc., which promises to be a true feast for the ears of the admirers of both styles. Author of the adaptations, combining in an impressive and exciting way the stylistic peculiarities of classics and jazz, is Sebastian Laverny the founder of the quartet. Successful composer and director, he is an extremely talented jazz pianist with his own brilliant performer profile. Together with the charismatic Axel Wolfram Phillip Schmitt, who fascinates the audience with the warm sound of his saxophone, the virtuoso drummer Gerald Stütz, who makes the audience breathless with his solo improvisations, and the talented double bass player Götz Ommert, Sebastian Laverny experiments bravely in the creative space between Bach and Oscar Peterson.


Copyright - 2014 - Stalker Project - Studio IDA